Snip It!

Life is too short, so jump right in and you just might surprise yourself.

3rd of May 2013, Friday (3:30PM)

A large mirror stood in front of me–allowing me a view of the entire place abuzz with activity. In the middle of the hubbub was me. My long dark hair was dripping wet and smelling like flowers while I was sitting on a black swivel chair. I was draped in protective cloth from the neck down. I was fidgeting with my hands, waiting. In a few minutes, I’m about to undergo metamorphosis.

*Click clack click clack* She arrived, armed with a smile and various tools.

What can I do for you today?

*White noise*  That was my mind coming up with a blank for an answer. The finality of my decision has not hit me until that question. In a moment of panic, I asked my sister, mom and dad to come over–a good call on my part. Within minutes, everything was set.

*Snip snip snip snip* So black, so many, too far gone. It was too late to go back now. I can only sit there, watch them fall to the floor, and wait for the end.

It’s done. You can look now.

*Silence* *Gasp* *Silence* Gone were the long dark tresses I nurtured for four years. In its place, a short black bob. I was waiting for regret to come, but it didn’t. I felt impulsive and giddy and young. Who knew that a haircut can lift one’s spirits a whole lot?

*Clink* That was the sound of the salon’s doors as I left feeling utterly satisfied. I’ve got a new haircut, I’m feeling badass, and I’m ready to take on the world. :>

Leave a comment